top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekarenchhaya

THE JOURNEY TO NOWHERE

Updated: Jul 17, 2021

Sitting by the window, with Pride & Prejudice in one hand,

And an invigorating cup of tea on the other, I, accompany me.

My hands tremble, I put the hot tea down, and inhale the petrichor.


Outside, there’s blaring honking, vigorous traffic, all unbothered by the rain.

I go with the flow, “We’re all heading towards a destination. A goal. Everybody’s competing. Everyone desires something, everything. And rightly so.”

I resolve, “I shall work, invulnerably, incessantly…. even at the cost of brokering life with success.”


I pick up the tea cup, and blow on my tea. My glasses get covered in vapour, and

my vision gets blurred. There is a pause.

I forget the pandemonium outside, and glance within. And in that instant, I contemplate, “What is it that we’re all chasing? What is it that we want, after the constant toiling and fagging? Is the one who wins the rat race the winner?”


In this moment, I feel peace, tranquility, worldly detachment, bliss, satisfaction.

I wonder, “Isn’t all this what we want at the end of the day anyway?”


The vapour on my glasses clears out. The world goes back to its monotonous, stressful, busy self, giggling at the sheer irony of how my vision had to be clogged in order for it to be unclogged.

97 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page